Skip to main content









Donation Heart Ribbon

Chula Vista’s Little League Dreams Come True


Chula Vista's Park View Little League today became the first Little League World Series champion from San Diego County in 48 years by defeating Taoyuan, Taiwan, 6-3 in South Williamsport, Pa.

Video unavailable. Read transcript below.

Above: Highlights of Chula Vista's Little League win. The Park View All-Stars scored a 6-3 win over Kuei-Shan Little League from Taoyuan making them 2009 Little League World Series Champions.

— Chula Vista's Park View Little League team is now the best little league team in the world. The South Bay sluggers came from behind to beat Taiwan 6-3 in the Little League World Series yesterday. Chula Vista fans say there's a new pride in the community.

One of several watching parties took place at The Brewhouse at Eastlake. Some fans could hardly contain their excitement. Others, like Pat Griffiths, were left rather speechless.

"These kids are special," Griffiths said. "These kids are unbelievable."

Fans at The Brewhouse compared Chula Vista's win to the San Diego Chargers winning the Super Bowl. Troy Vierra, a Chula Vista teacher and resident, says that might explain why so many grown men are now trying to squeeze into their old Chula Vista little league jerseys.

“We all play little league, so you remember that," Vierra said. "You can remember being on the All-Stars teams. You might have won the first round but lost the second round. This (winning the Little League World Series) is very hard to do.”

Sara Casas-Silva, a Chula Vista native, says the kids are bringing back hope and happiness. She says the players epitomize the heart and soul of this South Bay city.

“There so many thriving young people here. There are so many exciting things going on. I always love coming back home, but not just coming back home to San Diego. I love coming home to Chula Vista.”

And the boys are expected to come home this week.

Chula Vista Park View becomes the second team from San Diego County to win the Little League World Series. El Cajon-La Mesa won the title in 1961.

Want more KPBS news?
Find us on Twitter and Facebook, or subscribe to our newsletters.

To view PDF documents, Download Acrobat Reader.