Skip to main content









Donation Heart Ribbon

Two-Week Nominating Period Begins For Mayoral Candidates

SAN DIEGO (CNS) - The two-week nominating period begins today for the 23 candidates who have expressed their intention to run for mayor of San Diego in the Nov. 19 special election.

The candidates, who include Councilmen David Alvarez and Kevin Faulconer, and former Assemblyman Nathan Fletcher, are allowed to pick up nominating papers from the City Clerk's Office. The papers need to be returned with 200 valid signatures of registered voters by Sept. 20.

The field also includes lawyer Hud Collins, a frequent speaker at City Council meetings; Bruce Coons, head of the preservationist group Save Our Heritage Organization; Paul Michael Dekker, who, according to his website, is director of information technology at the San Diego-based nonprofit Global Energy Network Institute; and Harry J. Dirks, a La Jolla Realtor.

Also intending to run are Marcus Dunlap; physician Steven Greenwald; James Grogan; Fred Charles Hill; Michael Kemmer, whose LinkedIn page says he's an IT intern at Sempra Energy; and Jared Mimms, who says on his LinkedIn page that he has founded or co-founded four companies.

The candidates list also includes accountant Teresa Miucci, psychiatrist Ashok Parameswaran; website owner Tobiah Pettus; gun rights advocate Lincoln Pickard; Kurt Schwab, who founded an organization for veterans of Afghanistan and Iraq; Mark Schwartz, a Libertarian activist who created a Facebook page for his campaign last month; Kevin Swanson; David Tasem, who operates a taxicab business; and Keith Wong.

Additionally, former City Attorney Mike Aguirre has told multiple news outlets that he plans to run.

Want more KPBS news?
Find us on Twitter and Facebook, or subscribe to our newsletters.

To view PDF documents, Download Acrobat Reader.