Listen

Read

Watch

Schedules

Programs

Events

Give

Account

Donation Heart Ribbon

Belly Up Tavern

Business hours

Sunday noon to 5 p.m.
Monday noon to 5 p.m.
Tuesday noon to 5 p.m.
Wednesday noon to 5 p.m.
Thursday noon to 5 p.m.
Friday noon to 5 p.m.
Saturday noon to 5 p.m.

The internationally acclaimed Belly Up Tavern located in Solana Beach, has a long history of bringing great live music to the San Diego area. They have all types of music almost every night. They serve limited bar food and alcohol as well.

The Belly Up has been continually voted “San Diego’s Best Live Music Venue” by several publications including The Union Tribune, The Reader and San Diego Magazine as well as heralded as one of the hottest clubs on the west coast by Rolling Stone Magazine.

Step next door to the Wild Note Cafe, their neighborhood bistro-style restaurant, and you have all you need for a complete night of entertainment, great music, food, dancing, drinking and socializing. Wild Note Cafe is only open on Mondays if there is a show at the Belly Up.

Parking is free at the Belly Up, and is located right on the side of the club. Street parking is also available.

This venue is open to individuals 21 & older.

Box Office Hours
The box office is open from noon until end of show on nights of shows. When there is not a show, the box office is open from noon – 5pm.

View the Calendar and buy Tickets for Belly Up events.

Upcoming events at Belly Up Tavern

40 Oz To Freedom - Sublime Tribute

Date Today, 8 p.m.
Cost $15 - $26 buy tickets
Age limit 21+
Event Cost Category

Infamous Stringdusters With: The Boston Boys

Tuesday, Apr. 22
9 p.m. $15 - $26 Community

Jeff Bridges And The Abiders

Wednesday, Apr. 23
8 p.m. $85 - $149 Community

Sarah Jarosz - Seated Show

Thursday, Apr. 24
8 p.m. $20 - $32 Community

The Aggrolites With: 2-Tone Sounds

Friday, Apr. 25
9 p.m. $18 - $32 Community

Nicki Bluhm & The Gramblers With: J.D. Mcpherson

Saturday, Apr. 26
9 p.m. $20 - $35 Community

Trampled By Turtles With: Spirit Family Reunion

Sunday, Apr. 27
8 p.m. $25 - $44 Community

KPRI Presents: O.A.R. - Monday Show

Monday, Apr. 28
8 p.m. $30 - $53 Community

KPRI Presents: O.A.R. - Tuesday Show

Tuesday, Apr. 29
8 p.m. $30 - $53 Community

An Evening With Michael Nesmith - Seated Show

Wednesday, Apr. 30
8 p.m. $45 - $79 Community
Event Cost Category

Noa (Achinoam Nini) In Concert

Thursday, May. 1
7:30 p.m. $28 - $75 Community

Date Night For A Cause Featuring Atomic Groove

Friday, May. 2
5 p.m. $60 - $70 Charity

Tokyo Police Club - Casbah Presents

Friday, May. 2
9 p.m. $18 - $32 Community

Cinco De Mustache Feat The Young Guns - Presented By Windigo

Saturday, May. 3
9 p.m. $14 - $16 Community

MarchFourth Marching Band With: Diego's Umbrella

Sunday, May. 4
8 p.m. $16 - $30 Arts

Mariachi El Bronx - Cinco De Mayo Party!

Monday, May. 5
9 p.m. $16 - $28 Community

PSB Records Cd Release Party For Valery And Elektrik Tank, Nick Binkley And Mark Hart

Tuesday, May. 6
8 p.m. $12 - $21 Community

Old 97's With: Nikki Lane

Thursday, May. 8
8 p.m. $23 - $41 Community

Johnny Clegg Band At The Belly Up Tavern

Friday, May. 9
9 p.m. $28 - $49 Music

Johnny Clegg Band With: Jesse Clegg

Friday, May. 9
9 p.m. $28 - $49 Community

Roger Clyne And The Peacemakers

Saturday, May. 10
9 p.m. $18 - $32 Community

Steel Pulse With: DJ Carlos Culture

Sunday, May. 11
8 p.m. $57 - $98 Community

Stephen 'Ragga' Marley

Wednesday, May. 14
9 p.m. $31 - $54 Community

Nahko And Medicine For The People - Polynesian Underground Presents

Friday, May. 16
9 p.m. $18 - $32 Community

Vokab Kompany

Saturday, May. 17
9 p.m. $13 - $23 Community

Katchafire - Tuesday Show

Tuesday, May. 20
9 p.m. $26 - $46 Community

Katchafire - Wednesday Show

Wednesday, May. 21
9 p.m. $26 - $46 Community

The Marshall Tucker Band At The Belly Up Tavern

Thursday, May. 22
7 p.m. $38 - $67 Arts

The Players Happy Hour

Friday, May. 23
5:30 p.m. $5 Community

Suzanne Vega (Duo Show)

Sunday, May. 25
8 p.m. $25 - $44 Community

The Green

Thursday, May. 29
9 p.m. $26 - $45 Community

Merle Haggard

Friday, May. 30
9:15 p.m. $85 - $149 Community

Blackalicious With Guests The Soul Rebels At The Belly Up Tavern

Saturday, May. 31
9 p.m. $20 - $35 Community
Event Cost Category

Dave Alvin & Phil Alvin With: The Guilty Ones

Wednesday, Jun. 11
8 p.m. $18 - $32 Community

Les Claypool's Duo De Twang With: Reformed Whores

Thursday, Jun. 12
8 p.m. $38 - $66 Community

Pato Banton

Friday, Jun. 13
9 p.m. $20 - $35 Community

Sage Francis With: B. Dolan

Tuesday, Jun. 17
9 p.m. $18 - $32 Community

Anuhea

Wednesday, Jun. 18
9 p.m. $24 - $42 Community

Cultura Profética - Postponed To June 20

Friday, Jun. 20
9 p.m. $20 - $35 Community

Sly and Robbie With: The Taxi Gang, Bitty McLean, DJ Carlos Culture

Thursday, Jun. 26
9 p.m. $26 - $46 Community

World Party With: Gabriel Kelley - Seated Show

Sunday, Jun. 29
8 p.m. $22 - $39 Community
Event Cost Category

Don Carlos

Saturday, Jul. 19
9 p.m. $28 - $49 Community
Event Cost Category

Third World

Tuesday, Aug. 5
9 p.m. $20 - $35 Community
Event Cost Category

An Evening With Dan Hicks And The Hot Licks - Seated Show

Tuesday, Sep. 9
8 p.m. $23 - $41 Community

Past events

Comments

Avatar for user 'monta'

monta | December 4, 2013 at 7:18 p.m. ― 4 months, 2 weeks ago

I want to post a comment about the history of the Belly Up. I met The Belly Up in 1974, I was 21. It was a place we'd stop off for a beer along a motorcycle ride that included several other places like Tug's Tavern and the Do Drop Inn. At that time, the Belly Up was a beer and wine joint where patrons could play pool or chess, dominoes; what have you. It was very easy going.

I recall 1978 as the year the Belly Up exploded for me. I was 25, a nurse at Scripps Green on the 3-11 shift and hit the Belly Up several nights a week for the last set. I listened to Bob Long and the Billion Dollar Band (geez, that guy could tear up a piano), The Bottle in Front of Me Frontal Lobotomy Band (Jerry, whose last name is escaping me; his was the house band). Rosie Flores was a frequent performer. I always enjoyed her shows.

Dave brought in great blues legends:Willy Dixon, Albert Collins, Clarence "Gatemouth" Brown, Sonny Terry and Brownie Magee.

I saw JJ Cale there; I don't know what was going on, he faced across stage, not at the audience.

I used to walk in and the bartender would automatically hand me my beer; never had to ask.

Dave and I dated briefly. We would go and scout bands around town. He gave me BUT pass which was confiscated the first time I entered the Belly Up after it was sold. That pass was worth more than gold to me. Music fills me, completes me.

I still enjoy the Belly Up as a great artist and sound venue. It confounds me that people don't use the dance floor to dance. What is up with guys crowding the stage and bobbing their heads up and down? Dave put in a dance floor because he wanted people to dance. When I come to the Belly Up, I insist on dancing; music is meant to make you move! One night, two young 20 somethings came after me and told me I was their inspiration : Dance as if no one is watching!

I have enjoyed the KPBS free shows on Mondays and get to as many as I can. At 60, I still have music in my soul and my body wants to dance.

Thank you for the opportunities to do so.

Monta

( | suggest removal )

Forgot your password?