Skip to main content









Donation Heart Ribbon

Comments made by clubveg

Using Spring Produce To Cook Delicious Vegetarian Dishes

I just caught the end of your show on Tuesday. I have been a vegetarian about 62 years, ever since I found out what meat was when I was very young. My parents taught me to be kind to animals and when I found out I had been eating them I was horrified. One problem I have with restaurants is the insidious sources of meat that creep in. Like, the veg-burgers cooked on the same grill as the meat ones. “Oh, but we wipe it down;” they say. However, there are still traces of meat fat no matter how hard the grill gets wiped. My other problem is with cheese. Many cheeses contain animal rennet which is extracted from the stomach lining of a suckling mammal, usually a calf. So, while no cheese is vegan (except soy), many cheeses are not even vegetarian and what is worse, they contain a byproduct of the veal industry. The other substance to watch out for is gelatin. Not just in Jello, but some yogurts, mint candy and other foods. To be a 100% vegetarian, I have to read a lot of labels. Of course, I can’t do that in a restaurant and if I ask the waiter if the cheese contains animal rennet, they think I’m nuts.

April 22, 2010 at 5:50 p.m. ( | suggest removal )