Skip to main content
KPBS arts banner graphic


SPONSORSHIP | Become a sponsor today!

'Elegy And Serenades' Symphony Livestream


  • WHEN Friday, February 26, 2021 at 7 p.m.
  • WHERE Virtual / San Diego Symphony
    Map | Website
  • AGES Not available
  • COST $20 - $100

An in-concert meditation on the unjust loss of life and
the power of commemoration and hope.

Music Director Rafael Payare leads the orchestra in Elegy And Serenades. Written in memory of Trayvon Martin, Eric Garner and Michael Brown, the San Diego Symphony opens the evening with Carlos Simon's Elegy: A Cry from the Grave in a piece dedicated to reflection and commemoration of lives lost to police brutality. The woodwinds shine in Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's Serenade No. 12 for Winds in C minor, and Piotr Tchaikovsky pays loving homage to Mozart's style in his own Serenade – but this time for Strings, and keyed in a more carefully hopeful C Major.

San Diego Symphony Orchestra
Rafael Payare, conductor

Complete Program:

CARLOS SIMON: Elegy: A Cry from the Grave
MOZART: Serenade No. 12 for Winds in C minor, K. 388
TCHAIKOVSKY: Serenade for Strings in C Major, Op. 48

Dates and times of events are subject to change without notice. Always check the event organizer's website for the most updated schedule before attending. Check local COVID-19 restrictions and updates.

SPONSORSHIP | Become a sponsor today!