Skip to main content

SPONSORSHIP | Become a sponsor today!

Advanced Shmues With Sasha Hoffman

  • WHEN Ongoing from now until February 11, 2021[days & times]
  • WHERE Virtual
    Map
  • AGES All ages
  • COST Free - $60

Beshas di zeks vokhn vet ir praktitsirn tsu bashraybn un taynen ayere shtandpunktn vegn kolerley temes, un tsuhern tsu audio-materialen (lider, intervyuen, redes, un dos glaykh).

During these six weeks, you will practice to describe and argue your point of view about a variety of topics, and listen to audio materials (poems, interviews, speeches, and the like).

Class occurs on Tuesdays (starting on Tuesday January 12) at 10 a.m. PST (1 p.m. EST, 6 p.m. in the U.K., 7 p.m. in most of Europe, 8 p.m. in Israel). First class is free! Then $15 per class or a 5-session package for 5 sessions. Register for the event on Eventbrite.

Sasha Hoffman received a PhD in Comparative Literature at the University of Michigan in 2012, with a dissertation focused on humorous representations of oppression within the writing of four classical Yiddish and Harlem Renaissance writers: Langston Hughes, Zora Neal Hurston, Sholem Aleykhem, and Modkhe Spector. Among other things, Sasha is a student and a teacher of Yiddish language and culture, with a particular interest in leftist and women's writing.

Dates and times of events are subject to change without notice. Always check the event organizer's website for the most updated schedule before attending. Check local COVID-19 restrictions and updates.

Promotional photo of a Por­trait of Itzik Manger by Artur...

Above: Promotional photo of a Por­trait of Itzik Manger by Artur Kolnik. Courtesy of Yiddish Arts and Academics Association of North America.

Categories

Related links

Submit a correction for this event

SPONSORSHIP | Become a sponsor today!