Skip to main content

SPONSORSHIP | Become a sponsor today!

Intermediate Shmues With Sasha Hoffman

  • WHEN Ongoing from now until February 11, 2021[days & times]
  • WHERE Virtual
    Map
  • AGES All ages
  • COST $15 - $60

Beshas di zeks vokhn vet ir farbreytern ayer aktivn vokabular, praktitsirn shmuesn vegn togteglekhe temes, un tsuhern tsu audio-materialen (lider, intervyuen, dramatishe shtik, un dos glaykh).

During these six weeks, you will expand your active vocabulary, practice talking about everyday topics and listen to audio materials (songs, interviews, plays, and the like).

This class will take place Thursdays (starting on Thursday January 7) at 11 a.m. PST (2 p.m. EST, 7 p.m. in the U.K., 8 p.m. in most of Europe, 9 p.m. in Israel). First class is free. Then $15 per session or $60 per package of 5 sessions. RSVP on Eventbrite.

Sasha Hoffman received a PhD in Comparative Literature at the University of Michigan in 2012, with a dissertation focused on humorous representations of oppression within the writing of four classical Yiddish and Harlem Renaissance writers: Langston Hughes, Zora Neal Hurston, Sholem Aleykhem, and Modkhe Spector. Among other things, Sasha is a student and a teacher of Yiddish language and culture, with a particular interest in leftists and women's writing.

Dates and times of events are subject to change without notice. Always check the event organizer's website for the most updated schedule before attending. Check local COVID-19 restrictions and updates.

Promotional photo of Sholem Aleijem. Courtesy of Yiddish ...

Above: Promotional photo of Sholem Aleijem. Courtesy of Yiddish Arts and Academics Association of North America.

Categories

Related links

Submit a correction for this event

SPONSORSHIP | Become a sponsor today!