Skip to main content

SPONSORSHIP | Become a sponsor today!

Shmues For Beginners

  • WHEN Ongoing from now until February 14, 2021[days & times]
  • WHERE Virtual
    Map
  • AGES All ages
  • COST $15 - $80

In this 6 session beginner shmues course, students will have their first conversations in Yiddish. We will discuss topics such as family, professions, and weather. Students will improve their speaking skills and understanding of oral Yiddish speech. Students will also enrich and practice the vocabulary and grammar that they learn in the main Yiddish course.

This class is Sundays, starting on January 10, at 10 a.m. Pacific Time (1 p.m. EST, 6 p.m. in the U.K., 7 p.m. in Europe, 8 p.m. in Israel). Register for this event on Eventbrite.

Ekaterina Kuznetsova was born in Moscow where she studied Literature, Pedagogics, and Religious Studies. In 2016, she graduated from the MA program in Yiddish Studies at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. She researched the history of translations from Yiddish as well as intercultural connections in Yiddish literature. She published articles in Russian, Polish, Yiddish, and English. She currently lives in Berlin, where she co-founded the initiative Yiddish.Berlin – a group of artists and activists that organizes cultural events involving Yiddish literature and culture. She is a regular contributor to In Geveb journal.

Dates and times of events are subject to change without notice. Always check the event organizer's website for the most updated schedule before attending. Check local COVID-19 restrictions and updates.

Promotional photo of a woman sitting. Courtesy of Yiddish...

Above: Promotional photo of a woman sitting. Courtesy of Yiddish Arts and Academics Association of North America.

Categories

Related links

Submit a correction for this event

SPONSORSHIP | Become a sponsor today!