Skip to main content









Donation Heart Ribbon

Changes at San Diego City Council



A new era begins today for San Diego city council, as four newly elected members are sworn in to the eight person council. They are Sherri Lightner, Todd Gloria, Carl Demaio and Marti Emerald.  KPBS reporter Alison St John has more.


This is the biggest showing of new faces on San Diego city council since the year 2000 when Scott Peters, Toni Atkins, Brian Maienschein and Jim Madaffer were sworn in.  


The longest serving city councilmember left in office is now Donna Frye, elected in 2001.


The newcomers won’t have much time to adjust to their new responsibilities. They get the keys to their offices right after the ceremony, and they’ll be on the dais at city hall making decisions at two this afternoon.


The first agenda item: to select a new council president to replace Scott Peters. It’s hard to predict which way the vote will go.  


Sherri Lightner, the new District 1 representative, says it’s an important position.


Lightner:  " and I am glad that we get to make the choice, because this is the person who, unless there are significant changes to the rules, is going to be setting the agenda for the next year."


There may be significant changes to the rules. Donna Frye and new councilman Carl Demaio have a package of reform proposals that includes stripping the president of the power to set the council’s agenda. 


The new council has a little time to consider that change… they don’t have to vote on those reforms   - until tomorrow!


Alison St John, KPBS news. 



Want more KPBS news?
Find us on Twitter and Facebook, or subscribe to our newsletters.

To view PDF documents, Download Acrobat Reader.