Three-Foot Separation Now Required for Drivers Passing Bicyclists
Tuesday, September 24, 2013
Aired 9/24/13 on KPBS News.
California drivers will soon be required to leave at least three feet between them and bicyclists they pass on the roads. That's one of 15 bills signed Monday by California Gov. Jerry Brown.
Of the 15 bills the governor just signed, the passing distance bill could have the biggest effect on Californians' daily lives. Drivers who don't pass bicyclists by at least three feet will face a $35 fine. That penalty will rise to $220 if a driver's violation of the new law leads to an accident. The measure will take effect in mid-September of next year.
Brown also signed a bill making it illegal to use computer programs that skip to the front of the digital line to buy sports or concert tickets on the web; and legislation allowing minors to remove their Internet and social media posts.
The governor vetoed a measure that would have added two seats to the 18-member California Commission on Emergency Medical Services. It's just the sixth bill he's vetoed this year, out of the nearly 350 he's already acted on.
To view PDF documents, Download Acrobat Reader.