Skip to main content

LATEST UPDATES: California Recall Election Results | Tracking COVID-19 | Vaccines | Racial Injustice

No Term Limits for San Diego County Supervisors

Photo caption:


(Photo: San Diego County Supervisors sit in their chambers as they are sworn in for a new term. Alison St John/KPBS )

Three of San Diego County’s five member Board of Supervisors were sworn in again today. There are no term limits for County Supervisors, and all of them have been on the board for more than 12 years. KPBS reporter Alison St John has more.

Supervisors Dianne Jacob, Pam Slater Price and Greg Cox won their reelection bids last year without having to mount campaigns. All three have been on the board since the 1990s. 


Jacob was elected in 1992. She  expressed her gratitude to the half a million people who live in her two thousand square mile district, that includes Poway, Julian, Lemon Grove, and Jacumba.


Jacob :   Thanks to you I am ready for round five.


This will be Jacob’s fifth four year term in office.


Pam Slater Price, who was also elected in 1992, says County historians say only a couple of other San Diego Supervisors have ever served this long, and that was 50 years ago.


The Board unanimously elected Dianne Jacob to be the chair for 2009. This will be the forth time she has held the position.   


Alison St John, KPBS News


San Diego News Now podcast branding

San Diego news; when you want it, where you want it. Get local stories on politics, education, health, environment, the border and more. New episodes are ready weekday mornings. Hosted by Anica Colbert and produced by KPBS, San Diego and the Imperial County's NPR and PBS station.

  • Need help keeping up with the news that matters most? Get the day's top news — ranging from local to international — straight to your inbox each weekday morning.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Curious San Diego banner

Want more KPBS news?
Find us on Twitter and Facebook, or sign up for our newsletters.

To view PDF documents, Download Acrobat Reader.