Skip to main content









Donation Heart Ribbon

San Diego’s Architectural Community Honors Region’s Best

Fashion Institute of Design & Merchandising, San Diego Campus. Designed by Cl...

Above: Fashion Institute of Design & Merchandising, San Diego Campus. Designed by Clive Wilkinson architects.

The American Institute of Architects (AIA)’s San Diego chapter held its annual Design Awards and Young Architect of the Year Awards last weekend at the Neurosciences Institute, showcasing some of San Diego’s best enduring architecture as well as new stars on the scene.

We live our lives in a built environment, but its easy to forget – or take for granted – how much buildings affect our lives.

It’s worth remembering the innovative architecture that surrounds us in San Diego: whether we work in a lab, live in a condo, or go to fashion school.

For a full list of winners, please see

MEMBERS’ CHOICE AWARD - selected by AIA San Diego members from the last 50 years of honor award-winning buildings that have stood the test of time.

1st Place:The Neurosciences Institute (Firm: Tod Williams, Billie Tsein & Associates)

2nd Place: Salk Institute (Architect: Louis Khan)

3rd Place: Santa Fe Depot Restoration (Firm: Bakewell & Brown / Restoration: Tucker Sadler & Associates)

HONOR AWARDS - AIA San Diego’s highest award celebrates extraordinary, thoroughly resolved architectural design, worthy of the profession’s highest regard.

Baldwin Hills Scenic Overlook (Firm: Safdie Rabines Architects)

Fashion Institute of Design & Merchandising (FIDM), San Diego (Firm: Clive Wilkinson Architects)

The Q (Firm: Jonathan Segal Architects)

MERIT AWARDS – Recognizes exemplary, innovative, and well resolved design, worthy of professional recognition.

The Station (Firm: Lloyd Russell, AIA)

Robert Paine Scripps Seaside Forum (Firm: Safdie Rabines Architects)

Mike Burnett, AIA, won this year’s Young Architect of the Year award.

Want more KPBS news?
Find us on Twitter and Facebook, or subscribe to our newsletters.

To view PDF documents, Download Acrobat Reader.