Cell Phone Crackdown Coming
Wednesday, November 17, 2010
SAN DIEGO Today is not the day to talk on your phone while driving, unless you have a hands-free device. Law enforcement agencies will be on the look-out for people driving with a phone up to their ear.
Officer Mary Bailey with the California Highway Patrol said cops will target places that are accident prone.
“We are going to up our enforcement throughout the county and then, specifically, look for places where we know cell-phone usage is a contributing factor. People that are on the freeway or people at stoplights,” she said.
Bailey said in 2008 about 1,200 California drivers involved in car crashes admitted cell phones played a role. She said 13 people died and nearly 900 were injured in those accidents. The fine for talking without a hands-free device is $20 for the first violation and $50 each time after that.
To view PDF documents, Download Acrobat Reader.
Please stay on topic and be as concise as possible. Leaving a comment means you agree to our Community Discussion Rules. We like civilized discourse. We don't like spam, lying, profanity, harassment or personal attacks.