Skip to main content









Donation Heart Ribbon

Past San Diego Mayors Who Left Office Early


Steve Erie, Political Science Professor, UC San Diego and author of Paradise Plundered


If Mayor Bob Filner resigns from office following sexual harassment allegations, he certainly won't be the first San Diego mayor to resign.

Photo by Katie Schoolov

Mayor Bob Filner talks to reporters about his proposed budget.

But if he's recalled, that will be a first for the city.

These and other facts are popping up as we all wonder how the scandal will end.

Here's a look at past San Diego Mayors who made an early exit:

John F. Forward Jr.: Resigned in 1934. He was at odds with the city council over his proposal for a new city manager.

Rutherford B. Irones: Resigned in 1935 after a hit and run accident. He was convicted of leaving the scene of an injury accident while driving a car the city purchased for him. He served a 6-month jail sentence.

Percy Benbough: Died in office in 1942.

Pete Wilson: Resigned in 1983 to become senator.

Roger Hedgecock: Resigned in 1985 after being convicted of breaking campaign finance laws. Most of the felony convictions were later overturned.

Dick Murphy: Resigned in 2005 after the pension underfunding scandal earned him the designation as "one of the worst big city mayors in America" by Time magazine.

Want more KPBS news?
Find us on Twitter and Facebook, or subscribe to our newsletters.

To view PDF documents, Download Acrobat Reader.