Skip to main content

Schools Closing Across County Due To Fires

The below school districts will be closed on Thursday:

— Bonsall Union

— Cajon Valley

— Cardiff

— Carlsbad Unified

— Coronado Unified

— Dehesa

— Del Mar Union

— Encinitas Union

— Escondido Union Elementary

— Escondido Union High

— Fallbrook Union Elementary

— Fallbrook Union High

— Grossmont Union High

— Lakeside Union

— La Mesa-Spring Valley

— Lemon Grove

— Oceanside Unified

— Poway Unified

— Ramona Unified

— Rancho Santa Fe

— San Diego Unified

— San Dieguito Union High

— San Marcos Unified

— San Pasqual Union

— Santee

— Solana Beach

— Vallecitos

— Valley Center-Pauma Unified

— Vista Unified

With firefighters and emergency personnel battling fires throughout the county for the past two days, 29 school districts announced Wednesday they would be closing campuses on Thursday.

Among the districts is San Diego Unified, the county's largest district. Many have not decided whether they will open on Friday.

All SDCOE Juvenile Court and Community Schools will also be closed, as will SDCOE's North County Regional Education Center, North County Academy, all special education programs operated by NCCSE, HOPE Infant programs and migrant education programs in north San Diego County.​​

A large number of charter public schools have announced that they​ will be closed​​ also. ​The California Charter Schools Association has created a list of San Diego County charter school closures.


San Diego News Matters podcast branding

KPBS' daily news podcast covering local politics, education, health, environment, the border and more. New episodes are ready weekday mornings so you can listen on your morning commute.

Curious San Diego banner

Want more KPBS news?
Find us on Twitter and Facebook, or sign up for our newsletters.

To view PDF documents, Download Acrobat Reader.