Skip to main content









Donation Heart Ribbon

The International Dancesport World Champianships 2009

Airs Tuesday, April 6, 2010 at 9 p.m. on KPBS TV

Credit: American Public Television

Above: Dancers compete in the International Dancesport World Championship competitions in 2009.

"The International Dancesport World Champianships 2009" is a three-part series highlighting this year’s championship competitions. The World Ten Dance Championship took place on October 10, 2009 in Barcelona, Spain. The World Latin Championship took place in Maribor, Slovenia on November 7, and on November 28, Aarhus, Denmark was the host city for the World Standard Championship.

As in past years, each program will include features giving insight into the background of the sport and a candid look at the dancers. The standard competitions are comprised of the Waltz, Slow Foxtrot, Tango, Viennese Waltz and Quickstep. The Cha-Cha, Samba, Rumba, Paso Doble and Jive are performed in the Latin competitions. The World Ten features all 10 dances.

The 2009 World Champions - Latin: Alexey Silde and Anna Firstova

The 2009 World Champions Latin: Alexey Silde and Anna Firstova, RUS

Want more KPBS news?
Find us on Twitter and Facebook, or subscribe to our newsletters.

To view PDF documents, Download Acrobat Reader.