Skip to main content









Donation Heart Ribbon

SPECIAL COVERAGE: Living With Wildfires: San Diego Firestorm 10 Years Later

Local Heroes Awards 2011

Airs Thursday, April 5, 2012 at 10:30 p.m. on KPBS TV

2011 Local Heroes: Bill Bodry, Tom Hom, Kathi Anderson, Robin Tarr, Veverly A...

Credit: Melissa Jacobs

Above: 2011 Local Heroes: Bill Bodry, Tom Hom, Kathi Anderson, Robin Tarr, Veverly Anderson, Jackie Gmach, Barbara Bry, Richard Nares, Dr. Edith Eva Eger, Nicole Murray Ramirez, Dr. Delores Jacobs, Michelle Marie Parada, Martha and Theophilus Logan, Rachael Ortiz and Brandie Taylor.

The Local Heroes Awards 2011 is the culmination of a year-long celebration of diversity that took place on February 8, 2012 at the Balboa Theatre in Downtown San Diego. Union Bank and KPBS honored 17 local individuals who are making a difference to enrich the lives of others.

Hosted by Yul Kwon, of PBS’ "America Revealed," recipients are formally recognized along with interludes of entertainment from the B-Side Players, LEIISA Polynesian Dance Group, San Diego Taiko, San Diego Ballet and Second Avenue Klezmer Ensemble.

The 2011 honorees include: Brandie Taylor, Michelle Parada, Bill Bodry, Pamela Finkel, Rachael Ortiz, Richard Nares, Nicole Murray Ramirez, Dr. Delores Jacobs, Tom Hom, Robin Tarr, Barbara Bry, Kathi Anderson, Jackie Gmach, Dr. Edith Eva Eger, Veverly Anderson, and Martha and Theophilus Logan.

If you are interested in nominating someone special in the community please visit and click on the "NOMINATE A HERO NOW!" button.

Want more KPBS news?
Find us on Twitter and Facebook, or subscribe to our newsletters.

To view PDF documents, Download Acrobat Reader.