skip to main content









Donation Heart Ribbon

Pentagon’s ‘Stolen Valor’ Website Now Includes Service Crosses

Department of Defense Valor website

Above: Department of Defense Valor website

The Pentagon's new 'Valor Website' now includes service crosses recipients in its database.

The website, launched last week, initially included Medal of Honor recipients since 9/11. Now, according to the Department of Defense:

The site... lists recipients of the Distinguished Service Cross, Air Force Cross and Navy Cross. The services are continuing to compile the lists of Silver Star recipients to add to the site.

The Department of Defense created the website in response to the U.S Supreme Court ruling that found the Stolen Valor Act of 2005 unconstitutional.

That law made it a crime to lie about being the recipient of military medals like the Medal of Honor. In his ruling, Justice Kennedy wrote that if the Pentagon created a medal database, it would make it easier to root out false claims.

The web address for the site is

To view PDF documents, Download Acrobat Reader.

Please stay on topic and be as concise as possible. Leaving a comment means you agree to our Community Discussion Rules. We like civilized discourse. We don't like spam, lying, profanity, harassment or personal attacks.

comments powered by Disqus