skip to main content









Donation Heart Ribbon

San Diego To Appoint Two New Port Commissioners

Each of the five cities regulated by the Unified Port of San Diego have representatives on the Port Commission. Coronado, Imperial Beach, Chula Vita and National City each have one commissioner.

The Port of San Diego was created by the state Legislature in 1962 to manage ...
Enlarge this image

Above: The Port of San Diego was created by the state Legislature in 1962 to manage San Diego Bay and surrounding waterfront land.

But the city of San Diego gets three. That's not enough to control the board, but enough to exert some influence.

On Monday, the San Diego City Council will appoint two new members to the Port Commission from among six nominees. They will each serve a four-year term. The new members will take the place of former commissioners Scott Peters, who was recently elected to Congress, and Lee Burdick, who has taken a job with San Diego Mayor Bob Filner.

Port spokeswoman Tanya Castaneda said there will be plenty to deal with right away, including the proposed Convention Center expansion.

"We’re going to be bringing that to the Coastal Commission early this year," she said. "And that’s an expansion that’s very important to maintain our competitiveness as a group-meeting destination."

This year, the Port will also focus on developing the Chula Vista Bayfront, as well as rejuvenating the cruise ship business and increasing both imports and exports of consumer goods.

To view PDF documents, Download Acrobat Reader.

Please stay on topic and be as concise as possible. Leaving a comment means you agree to our Community Discussion Rules. We like civilized discourse. We don't like spam, lying, profanity, harassment or personal attacks.

comments powered by Disqus