Skip to main content

LATEST UPDATES: Election 2020: Live Results | Tracking COVID-19 | Racial Justice

Hall of Fame: the 2012 Inductees

Conrad Prebys and Debbie Turner were honored as Visionaries in the KPBS Hall ...

Photo by Spark Photography

Above: Conrad Prebys and Debbie Turner were honored as Visionaries in the KPBS Hall of Fame for the support of MASTERPIECE. Mrs. Audrey S. Geisel was also honored as a Visionary for her longtime support of KPBS' outreach and literacy programs. The late Brad Warner, former program manager, was posthumously inducted with a Lifetime Achievement Award.

KPBS Hall of Fame ceremony took place during the KPBS Celebrates Gala inspired by Downton Abbey on May 4, 2013 at the US Grant. The Hall of Fame Inductees have all made important and lasting contributions to KPBS.

KPBS is proud to honor and celebrate:

Audrey Geisel | Visionary

Conrad Prebys & Debbie Turner | Visionaries

Brad Warner | Lifetime Achievement

The KPBS Hall of Fame consists of two designations: Lifetime Achievement and Visionaries. Lifetime Achievement inductees are former staff whose work set new standards and broke new ground for public media. The Visionaries category honors extraordinary individuals and families whose financial contributions enable KPBS to advance our mission and service to the community.

Photo caption:

Photo by Doug Gates

Audrey S. Geisel, KPBS Hall of Fame Visionary Inductee Photo taken at the 2011 Old Globe Gala

In the Visionary category, KPBS honors Mrs. Audrey Geisel for her more than 20 years of commitment, providing vital funds for KPBS’ community outreach programs to support literacy and education in children. Mrs. Geisel has also demonstrated her support for the station as a Producers Club member, providing a vital and steady source of general support throughout the years.

Also receiving a Visionary Award are Conrad Prebys and Debbie Turner. Last spring, this San Diego developer and philanthropist provided a $500,000 gift to the Masterpiece Trust to strengthen the series’ future on PBS. Half of the gift supports local arts programming on KPBS.

KPBS is proud to distinguish former (and first) TV Program Manager, Brad Warner as the 2012 Hall of Fame Lifetime Achievement inductee for his 23 years of service at KPBS.

Brad joined KPBS in 1967 and is considered one of the four “Founding Fathers” of KPBS. As the station’s first TV Program Manager, Brad saw many station firsts including the very first TV broadcast, the first telecast in color, the station’s first TV auction, and the creation of the station’s public affairs department which was headed by Gloria Penner. Brad retired in 1990 and died in 1992. Brad joins other Hall of Fame Lifetime Achievement Awardees including station founder Ken Jones, John Witherspoon, Paul Steen, Tom McManus, Paul Marshall, and Gloria Penner.

Congratulations to the 2012 KPBS Hall of Fame honorees!

Visit our photo gallery honoring all the Hall of Fame Inductees. Watch the videos honoring previous inductees:

KPBS Hall of Fame Tributes

The KPBS Hall of Fame honors individuals and families who have made significant impact on the station. These videos pay tribute to all of the inductees since the Hall of Fame was created in 2010.


San Diego News Matters podcast branding

KPBS' daily news podcast covering local politics, education, health, environment, the border and more. New episodes are ready weekday mornings so you can listen on your morning commute.

  • Need help keeping up with the news that matters most? Get the day's top news — ranging from local to international — straight to your inbox each weekday morning.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Curious San Diego banner

Want more KPBS news?
Find us on Twitter and Facebook, or sign up for our newsletters.

To view PDF documents, Download Acrobat Reader.