Skip to main content

LATEST UPDATES: Tracking COVID-19 | Vaccines | Racial Injustice

Horn, Roberts Begin Final Terms As San Diego County Supervisors

Photo caption:

Photo by Angela Carone

County Supervisor Bill Horn is shown being sworn in for his final term in office on Jan. 5, 2015.

In office since the mid-1990s, Bill Horn and Ron Roberts will become subject to a new term-limits law in four years.

Two of San Diego County's longest-serving supervisors were sworn in for their last term Monday. Supervisors Ron Roberts and Bill Horn have served on the board since the 1990s and will be the first supervisors to term out under new limits passed in 2010.

For his sixth term, Horn won a tightly contested reelection battle against Oceanside Mayor Jim Wood.

"Ron and I will be done at the end of this term, we will each have had 24 years here," said Horn after taking the oath of office from Superior Court Judge Timothy Casserly. "I hope that the stewardship that we have displayed at this county will carry on in the future. That is something that greatly concerns me."

Horn is expected to be named chairman Tuesday for the fourth time in his career. He said he wants to continue the county's good-standing financial status.

"We've been that way for 20 years so it's not just something that happens automatically," Horn told KPBS. "We have (an) A credit rating that we've had for 15 years in a row, so we've got a great team here."

As chairman, Horn said he'll give special attention to San Diego's North County, which he represents.

"I try to get as much influence in the North County, 'cause that's where I'm from," he said. "There is life north of the 8."

Roberts, who represents much of the city of San Diego, ran unopposed to win his final term. Following his swearing in administered by former San Diego Mayor Jerry Sanders, Roberts touted the board's achievements over the years, including the County Operations Center in Kearny Mesa, improvements in air quality and a waterfront park.

He also talked about future goals, such as a partnership with the city of San Diego for a new Chargers stadium.

"Try to imagine a new stadium befitting our region of San Diego," Roberts said. "As a team, and with the partnership of the city of San a team we can do this."

When speaking about working with the city, Roberts acknowledged Councilman Todd Gloria, who was in the audience.

Also sworn in were Sheriff Bill Gore, District Attorney Bonnie Dumanis, Assessor/Recorder/Clerk Ernest Dronenburg, Jr., and Treasurer-Tax Collector Dan McAllister. All were reelected.

Dumanis said she planned to run for a fifth term in 2018. The others did not mention their future plans.

Editor's note: This story has been corrected to reflect that Horn is not the longest-serving member of the board. Supervisor Dianne Jacob has served the longest. We regret the error.


San Diego News Now podcast branding

San Diego news; when you want it, where you want it. Get local stories on politics, education, health, environment, the border and more. New episodes are ready weekday mornings. Hosted by Anica Colbert and produced by KPBS, San Diego and the Imperial County's NPR and PBS station.

  • Need help keeping up with the news that matters most? Get the day's top news — ranging from local to international — straight to your inbox each weekday morning.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Curious San Diego banner

Want more KPBS news?
Find us on Twitter and Facebook, or sign up for our newsletters.

To view PDF documents, Download Acrobat Reader.