Skip to main content









Donation Heart Ribbon

News: SDFCS Gives Best Film to ‘Winter’s Bone’

San Diego Film Critics Name Best of Year

Jennifer Lawrence is a teenager with adult responsibilities in

Credit: Roadside Attractions

Above: Jennifer Lawrence is a teenager with adult responsibilities in "Winter's Bone"


The critics of the KPBS Film Club of the Air discuss the recent San Diego Film Critics Awards.


The San Diego Film Critics Society often strays from other organizations in its awards choices. This year the top prize goes to the indie film 'Winter's Bone." The film was also the only one to receive multiple awards garnering best actress for Jennifer Lawrence and best supporting actor for John Hawkes.The critics may stir some snickers for picking Colin Farrell as best actor in "Ondine," but it was a fine performance in an unexciting list of nominees. It's not that any of the performances were bad but rather the other nominees delivered Oscar bait work.

The best supporting actress category, however, was ripe with outstanding work and Lesley Manville in "Another Year" took the award over the equally fine Jacki Weaver in "Animal Kingdom."

The critics also give out a Body of Work Award to a person who excelled in multiple films in a given year. This year the award went to Rebecca Hall who was exquisite in "Red Riding 1973," "Please Give," and "The Town." The Kyle Counts Award is given in memory of the late film critic and SDFCS member Kyle Counts and highlights someone in the community who has done exceptional work promoting the art of film. This year the award went to San Diego Reader film critic Duncan Shepherd who retired after decades of covering film and raising the bar on what we should expect at the cinema.

Here is a complete list of winners and nominees:

Best Film: - "Winter’s Bone"

"Black Swan"


"The King’s Speech"

"The Social Network"

Best Director – Darren Aronofsky, "Black Swan"

Christopher Nolan, "Inception"

Danny Boyle, "127 Hours"

David Fincher, "The Social Network"

Debra Granik, "Winter’s Bone"

Best Actress – Jennifer Lawrence, "Winter’s Bone"

Carey Mulligan, "Never Let Me Go"

Michelle Williams, "Blue Valentine"

Natalie Portman, "Black Swan"

Tilda Swinton, "I Am Love"

Photo caption:

Photo credit: Magnolia Pictures

Alicja Bachleda and Colin Farrell star in Neil Jordan's "Ondine."

Best Actor – Colin Farrell, "Ondine"

Aaron Eckhart, "Rabbit Hole"

Colin Firth, "The King’s Speech"

James Franco, "127 Hours"

Jesse Eisenberg, "The Social Network"

Best Supporting Actress – Lesley Manville, "Another Year"

Blake Lively, "The Town"

Dale Dickey, "Winter’s Bone"

Jacki Weaver, "Animal Kingdom"

Melissa Leo, "The Fighter"

Best Supporting Actor – John Hawkes, "Winter’s Bone"

Christian Bale, "The Fighter"

Geoffrey Rush, "The King’s Speech"

Jeremy Renner, "The Town"

John Hurt, "44 Inch Chest"

Best Original Screenplay – Jesse Armstrong, Sam Bain And Chris Morris, "Four Lions"

Christopher Nolan, "Inception"

David Seidler, "The King’s Speech"

Michael Arndt, "Toy Story 3"

Neil Jordan, "Ondine"

Best Adapted Screenplay – Aaron Sorkin, "The Social Network"

Debra Granik & Anne Rosellini, "Winter’s Bone"

Laeta Kalogridis, "Shutter Island"

Michael Bacall & Edgar Wright, "Scott Pilgrim Vs The World"

Peter Craig & Ben Affleck & Aaron Stockard, "The Town"

Best Foreign Language Film – "I Am Love"



"No One Knows About Persian Cats"

"The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo"

Photo caption:

Photo credit: PDA

Street artist Banksy... or is it? "Exit Through the Gift Shop."

Best Documentary – "Exit Through The Gift Shop"

"A Film Unfinished"

"Inside Job"

"The Tillman Story"

"Waiting For ‘Superman'"

Best Cinematography – Wally Pfister, "Inception"

Anthony Dod Mantle & Enrique Chediak, "127 Hours"

Eduardo Serra, "Harry Potter & The Deathly Hallows: Part 1"

Matthew Libatique, "Black Swan"

Robert Richardson, "Shutter Island"

Best Animated Film – "Toy Story 3"

"Despicable Me"

"How To Train Your Dragon"


"The Illusionist"

Photo caption:

Photo credit: Universal

Michael Cera stars as Scott Pilgrim

Best Editing – Jonathan Amos & Paul Machliss, "Scott Pilgrim Vs The World"

Andrew Weisblum, "Black Swan"

Angus Wall & Kirk Baxter, "The Social Network"

Jon Harris, "127 Hours"

Lee Smith, "Inception"

Best Production Design – Dante Ferretti, "Shutter Island"

Guy Hendrix Dyas, "Inception"

Robert Stromberg, "Alice In Wonderland"

Stuart Craig, "Harry Potter & The Deathly Hallows: Part 1"

Thérèse Deprez, "Black Swan"

Best Score – Rachel Portman, "Never Let Me Go"

A. R. Rahman, "127 Hours"

Clint Mansell, "Black Swan"

Danny Elfman, "Alice In Wonderland"

Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross, "The Social Network"

Photo caption:

Photo credit: Image Entertainment

The gang's all here... "44 Inch Chest"

Best Ensemble Performance – "44 Inch Chest"

"Another Year"

"The Fighter"

"The Social Network"

"Winter’s Bone"

Photo caption:

Photo credit: Warner Brothers

Rebecca Hall plays a bank employee held hostage by robbers in "The Town."

Body of Work for 2010

Rebecca Hall, ("Red Riding 1974," "Please Give," "The Town")

Kyle Counts Award

Duncan Shepherd (retired San Diego Reader Film Critic)

Want more KPBS news?
Find us on Twitter and Facebook, or subscribe to our newsletters.

To view PDF documents, Download Acrobat Reader.