skip to main content









Donation Heart Ribbon

State Officials Sworn In, All Statewide Offices Democratic

Besides governor and attorney general, there are several other new constitutional officers. Former Democratic lawmaker Tom Torlakson was sworn in as state schools chief. And Dave Jones, who’s been a Sacramento city councilman and state assemblyman, is California’s new insurance commissioner.

"Elections matter," Jones said. "The voters decided they wanted an activist insurance commissioner who will advocate for consumers."

Jones said he will push to enforce the federal health care overhaul in California – even if Congressional Republicans de-fund it.

San Francisco Mayor Gavin Newsom will be California’s next lieutenant governor, but did not take the oath of office Monday. He’s delaying his inauguration in the hopes of influencing the selection of his successor at City Hall. He’ll be sworn in within the next week.

Secretary of State Debra Bowen, Controller John Chiang and Treasurer Bill Lockyer each begin their second terms in their respective offices.

Once Newsom is sworn in, Democrats will hold every statewide office in California.

Please stay on topic and be as concise as possible. Leaving a comment means you agree to our Community Discussion Rules. We like civilized discourse. We don't like spam, lying, profanity, harassment or personal attacks.

comments powered by Disqus