Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Watch Live


All Four Major Candidates File Mayoral Papers

Rep. Bob Filner, D- San Diego, and Assemblyman Nathan Fletcher, R-San Diego, filed their nomination papers today for the San Diego mayoral race today, joining a field of a dozen candidates.

Today is the deadline for candidates for city of San Diego offices to file the documents, a necessary step to be placed on the June 5 primary ballot.

District Attorney Bonnie Dumanis and Councilman Carl DeMaio already have filed for the mayor's race. Assemblyman Nathan Fletcher, R-San Diego, is expected to do so later today.


"They've heard us on the 10th floor and they've heard us on the 12th floor, and now we're going to take over City Hall," Filner told about 50 supporters after he filed his papers. He referred to the levels of the city building that house the City Council offices and the Council Chambers, but pointedly skipping the mayor's office, on the 11th floor.

Councilwoman Marti Emerald and San Diego Unified School District Trustee Richard Barrera stood by Filner's side as he addressed the gathering. Emerald called the upcoming the election the most important in years for bringing change to city government.

Other mayoral candidates who have filed are Sharam Adhami, David Cardon, Hud Collins, Steven Greenwald and Tobiah Pettus.

The papers for the mayor's and city attorney's races require 200 petition signatures. The requirement for City Council races is 100 signatures.

The documents also include the candidate's occupation, statement of qualifications and a photograph.


In the city attorney's race, incumbent Jan Goldsmith was the only one to take out nomination papers, so it appears he will seek re-election unopposed.

He filed his documents on Monday.

For City Council races, the candidates who have filed to date include:

--incumbent Sherri Lightner, Ray Ellis and Dennis Ridz in District 1;

--incumbent Todd Gloria in District 3;

--Mark Kersey in the open District 5;

--Rik Hauptfeld, Mat Kostrinsky and Scott Sherman in the open District 7

--Emerald and Mateo Camarillo in the newly created District 9.

Emerald currently represents District 7 but is shifting to the new district when the new council boundaries take effect later this year.