Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00
0:00
Available On Air Stations
  • Arts
  • Theater
  • Editor's Picks
  • KPBS Arts Calendar

Melinda Lopez's 'Mala' at The Old Globe

malaoldglobe.jpeg
Promotional photo for Melinda Lopez's "Mala", courtesy of The Old Globe Theatre.
Every week from May 7, 2022 until June 12, 2022.
Sunday: 2 PM
Sunday: 7 PM
Tuesday: 6 PM
Tuesday: 7 PM
Tuesday: 8 PM
Wednesday: 7 PM
Thursday: 8 PM
Friday: 8 PM
Saturday: 2 PM
Saturday: 8 PM
Old Globe Theatre
$30 – $120

She was always the good daughter. But now her mother, in the twilight of her life, calls her “mala”—bad to the core.

Melinda Lopez’s funny, brutally honest, and ultimately cathartic solo play is an irreverent exploration of how we live, cope, and survive in a challenging moment, and what happens when we strive to be good but don’t always succeed. Theatermania calls it “deeply affecting,” while The Boston Globe named it “one of the best plays of the year. Piercingly honest and exquisitely moving.”

In our commitment to provide access to the widest San Diego audience, The Old Globe will present Mala in Spanish on selected dates. Mala is supported by production sponsors the Globe Guilders.

Enjoy Mala from May 7 through June 17 at The Old Globe on the following schedule:
More information on "Mala" en español here
• Saturday, May 7 at 8 p.m.
• Sunday, May 8 at 7 p.m.
• Tuesday, May 10 at 6 p.m. and 7 p.m.
• Wednesday, May 11 at 7 p.m.
• Thursday, May 12 at 8 p.m.
• Friday, May 13 at 8 p.m.
• Saturday, May 14 at 2 p.m. and 8 p.m.
• Sunday, May 15 at 7 p.m. and 7 p.m.
• Tuesday, May 17 at 7 p.m.
• Wednesday, May 18 at 7 p.m.
• Thursday, May 19 at 8 p.m. in Spanish
• Friday, May 20 at 8 p.m.
• Saturday, May 21 at 2 p.m. in English and 8 p.m. in Spanish
• Sunday, May 22 at 2 p.m. and 7 p.m.
• Tuesday, May 24 at 7 p.m. in Spanish
• Wednesday, May 25 at 7 p.m.
• Thursday, May 26 at 8 p.m.
• Friday, May 27 at 8 p.m.
• Saturday, May 28 at 2 p.m. in Spanish and 8 p.m. in English
• Sunday, May 29 at 2 p.m. and 7 p.m.
• Tuesday, May 31 at 7 p.m.
• Wednesday, June 1 at 2 p.m. in English and 7 p.m. in Spanish
• Thursday, June 2 at 8 p.m.
• Friday, June 3 at 8 p.m.
• Saturday, June 4 at 8 p.m.
• Sunday, June 5 at 2 p.m. in English and 7 p.m. in Spanish
• Tuesday, June 7 at 7 p.m.
• Wednesday, June 8 at 7 p.m.
• Thursday, June 9 at 8 p.m.
• Friday, June 10 at 8 p.m. in Spanish
• Saturday, June 11 at 2 p.m. and 8 p.m.
• Sunday, June 12 at 2 p.m. in Spanish and 7 p.m. in English

Get tickets here!
Ticket prices ranging from $30 to $120.

For more information, please visit www.theoldglobe.org or call (619)234-5623.

Related links:
The Old Globe on Instagram
The Old Globe on Facebook

Old Globe Theatre

1363 Old Globe Way
San Diego, California 92101
619-231-1941
tickets@TheOldGlobe.org

Use two fingers to move map

Dates and times of events are subject to change without notice. Always check the event organizer's website for the most updated schedule before attending.