Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Watch Live


Two SD Teachers Receive Amgen Award For Science Teaching Excellence

Two San Diego area educators are among 34 science teachers in the United States, Canada and Puerto Rico named today as recipients of the 18th annual Amgen Award for Science Teaching Excellence.

Nearly 250 applications were received for the award, which "recognizes extraordinary teachers in grades K-12 whose dedication to students has had a significant impact on the learning and interest of the future generation of scientists,'' according to Thousand Oaks-based Amgen.

A half-dozen of the 2010 recipients are from California, including Anne Artz of Preuss School UCSD in La Jolla and Ericka Senegar-Mitchell of Junipero Serra High School in San Diego.


Others are from Colorado, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Rhode Island,

Washington, Puerto Rico and Canada.

Since the program's inception in 1992, Amgen has awarded more than $2.5 million to educators who have made exceptional science-teaching contributions and who have achieved demonstrated results in student learning in communities where the biotechnology company operates.

This year's winners were honored at special ceremonies in their respective Amgen communities or during surprise presentations at their schools.

"Amgen believes in the enduring value of science education and is committed to supporting programs that encourage bright young minds to explore a future in science," said Joe Miletich, senior vice president of research and development at Amgen.


The 34 selected winners will receive an unrestricted cash award of $5,000 and a restricted $5,000 cash grant to the recipient's school "for the expansion or enhancement of a school science program, science resources or the professional development of the school's science teachers.''

Along with their award applications, teachers were asked to submit an innovative science lesson plan which had been successfully introduced in their classroom. Amgen will post select winning lesson plans to its website for educators across the country to view.

Nominations are solicited every fall, with winners selected based on the following criteria: innovative science lesson plan, creativity and effectiveness of teaching methods; and the plan for the use of grant money to improve science education resources in their schools.