Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Watch Live


Air Force ID's Four Airmen Killed In C-130 Crash

Maj. Ryan S. David
Courtesy photo
Maj. Ryan S. David

The U.S. Air Force has released the names of the four Airmen killed when their C-130 crashed while fighting a fire in South Dakota.

The men who died were:

  • Lt. Col. Paul K. Mikeal, 42, of Mooresville, N.C.;
  • Maj. Joseph M. McCormick, 36, of Belmont, N.C.;
  • Maj. Ryan S. David, 35, of Boone, N.C.;
  • Senior Master Sgt. Robert S. Cannon, 50, of Charlotte.

All were members of the 145th Airlift Wing with the North Carolina Air National Guard, based in Charlotte.


145th Air Wing commander Brig. Gen. Tony McMillan said of the tragic crash:

"Words can't express how much we feel the loss of these Airmen. Our prayers are with their families, as well as our injured brothers as they recover."

The two crew members who survived the crash have not been identified yet by the Air Force.