Skip to main content









Donation Heart Ribbon

Hall of Fame: the 2013 Inductees

KPBS tribute to this year’s Hall of Fame inductees takes place on January 11, 2014 at the US Grant. This year’s inductees have all made important contributions to KPBS that have lasting impact.

KPBS is proud to honor and celebrate:

Dr. and Mrs. Stephen Weber | Visionaries

Stephanie Bergsma | Lifetime Achievement

The KPBS Hall of Fame consists of two designations: Lifetime Achievement and Visionaries. Lifetime Achievement inductees are former staff whose work set new standards for public media. The Visionaries category honors extraordinary individuals and families whose commitment to KPBS helps to advance our mission and service to the community.

Photo caption:

Photo by David Friend

Photo credit: Provided by SDSU

KPBS Hall of Fame - Visionaries Dr. Stephen Weber, SDSU President Emeritus and Mrs. Susan Weber.

KPBS honors Dr. Stephen Weber, SDSU President Emeritus and Mrs. Susan Weber for their commitment, dedication, and support. The Webers have been an incredible source of support for the station during the past 17. As President of SDSU, Dr. Weber played an important role in KPBS’ success. His commitment to excellence and raising the bar in academics, athletics and fundraising transferred to the station, allowing the KPBS leaders to take risks and invest in our public news service. The Webers were committed to making the station a key part of SDSU. President Weber recognized the unique relations between the University and KPBS. In his address to the inaugural KPBS Hall of Fame inductees, Weber stated that the two institutions had “a 50 year partnership worth bragging about.” This partnership resulted in rich local and national content for KPBS’ multimedia platforms, an educated community, professionally trained students, a new generation of journalists, and a community of listeners, watchers and users who share the same passion for education and culture.

Photo caption:

Photo by Spark Photography

Stephanie Bergsma, former KPBS Associate General Manager and accomplished fundraiser, at the KPBS Celebrates the Sixties gala in 2010.

KPBS is proud to distinguish former KPBS Associate General Manager, Stephanie Bergsma as the 2013 Hall of Fame Lifetime Achievement honoree. One of KPBS’ most accomplished fundraisers, Stephanie’s 30-year career highlights include spearheading the station’s first development department and leading all major funding initiatives that have helped lift KPBS into the national public media spotlight. Among her numerous accomplishes for KPBS include the creation the KPBS Producers Club (a funding level at $1,200 and above annually); establishing the station’s Corporate Giving program; completing the “Campaign to Make a Difference” to fund the construction and equipment for the KPBS Copley Telecommunications Center; securing the historic $200 million bequest from the late Joan Kroc to National Public Radio and a $5 million bequest to KPBS; securing a multi-million dollar gift from Joan and Irwin Jacobs for the renovation of the Joan and Irwin Jacobs KPBS News Center; and orchestrating major funding for the MASTERPIECE Trust initiative from KPBS supporters Darlene Shiley and Conrad Prebys and Debbie Turner.

Stephanie retired at the end of 2012, though she continues to support the station as member of the Producers Club and as a member of the KPBS Advisory Council.

Congratulations to the 2013 KPBS Hall of Fame honorees!

Visit our photo gallery honoring all the Hall of Fame Inductees.

Watch the videos honoring previous inductees:

KPBS Hall of Fame Tributes

The KPBS Hall of Fame honors individuals and families who have made significant impact on the station. These videos pay tribute to all of the inductees since the Hall of Fame was created in 2010.

Want more KPBS news?
Find us on Twitter and Facebook, or subscribe to our newsletters.

To view PDF documents, Download Acrobat Reader.