Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

CONCACAF Unveils Gold Cup Matches At Qualcomm

CONCACAF announced the full slate of teams that will compete for the 2017 Gold Cup at this event, March 7, 2017.

Mexico will face El Salvador, and Jamaica will take on Curacao in Group C in the first round of soccer's Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football Gold Cup on July 9, tournament officials announced Tuesday.

Mexico was known to be one of the teams that would play at Qualcomm Stadium, but this is the first time the other national teams were announced.

San Diego will be one of 14 host cities around the country.


“San Diego is home to some of the best soccer fans in the country, so we are excited to welcome four outstanding international teams to Qualcomm Stadium as we write our own chapter in the 2017 Gold Cup storyline,'' Mayor Kevin Faulconer said. "This beautiful game continues to be the world's most popular sport, and we are thrilled to host this world-class event."

CONCACAF Gold Cup 2017

The CONCACAF Gold Cup is played every two years. San Diego previously played host in 1996 and 2000.

The U.S. team will open play July 8 against Panama in Nashville.

The semifinals will be held in Arlington, Texas, July 22 and the Rose Bowl in Pasadena July 23. The final will take place at Levi's Stadium in Santa Clara on July 26.