Skip to main content









Donation Heart Ribbon

Chula Vista Wins Little League World Championship

Chula Vista Park View Little League players celebrate their victory against A...

Photo by Larry French / Getty Images

Above: Chula Vista Park View Little League players celebrate their victory against Asia Pacific (Taoyuan, Taiwan) after the game after the little league world series final at Lamade Stadium on August 30, 2009 in Williamsport, Pennsylvania.

Video unavailable. Read transcript below.

Above: Highlights of Chula Vista's Little League win. The Park View All-Stars scored a 6-3 win over Kuei-Shan Little League from Taoyuan making them 2009 Little League World Series Champions.

Chula Vista's Park View Little League today became the first Little League World Series champion from San Diego County in 48 years by defeating Taoyuan, Taiwan, 6-3 in South Williamsport, Pa.

The ``Blue Bombers'' rallied from a 3-0 hole in the third inning to win, a comeback that was helped by some uncharacteristically sloppy play by the team representing the Asian-Pacific Region.

With the bases loaded in the bottom of the third inning, Taiwan's second baseman was unable to handle a ground ball struck by Park View's Bradley Roberto, bringing in the first run.

The winning rally came in the fourth inning.

Jensen Peterson hit a shot booted by Taiwan's shortstop. Nick Conlin doubled to right-center, and Seth Godfrey brought in the second run with a sacrifice fly. Conlin tied the game when he scored on a wild pitch.

A two-out RBI single by Bulla Graft put Chula Vista ahead.

The game was saved by a brilliant double play in the fifth inning by Park View shortstop Andy Rios. With one out and the bases loaded, Rios fielded a ground ball, tagged the runner coming off second base and threw to first base to get out of the inning.

Park View added insurance runs in the bottom of the fifth on an RBI double by Godfrey and a run-scoring single by Rios.

The last local team to win it all was the La Mesa-El Cajon Northern All- Stars in 1961, with a roster that included future NFL quarterback Brian Sipe as a reserve.

Chula Vista is the first winner from California since former Padres third baseman Sean Burroughs led Long Beach to back-to-back championships in 1992 and 1993.

Teams from Oceanside and Vista have also participated in the Little League World Series in the past decade.

Want more KPBS news?
Find us on Twitter and Facebook, or subscribe to our newsletters.

To view PDF documents, Download Acrobat Reader.