Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

22 San Diego County Schools Designated As 'Gold Ribbon Schools'


The state Department of Education Tuesday designated 22 schools in San Diego County as "Gold Ribbon Schools," an honor that replaces the former California Distinguished Schools program.

According to the California Department of Education, the "Gold Ribbon Schools" award recognizes schools "that have made tremendous gains in implementing the academic content and performance standards adopted by the State Board of Education for all students, including English learners."

"These schools are academically successful, vibrant and innovative centers of learning and teaching," said Tom Torlakson, the state superintendent of public instruction. "They provide great examples of the things educators are doing right — embracing rigorous academic standards, providing excellence and creativity in teaching, and creating a positive school climate."

The honored San Diego schools are:

— El Cajon Valley, Monte Vista and Steele Canyon high schools in the Grossmont Union High School District;

— Lakeside Middle School and the National University Academy in the Lakeside Union School District;

— Mountain Empire High School in the Mountain Empire School District;

— Meadowbrook Middle School in the Poway Unified School District;

— Olive Peirce Middle School in the Ramona City Unified School District;

— Mountain Valley Academy in the Ramona Unified School District;

— Health Sciences High and Middle College, Preuss School UCSD and San Diego Global Vision Academy Middle in the San Diego Unified School District;

— Patrick Henry, Scripps Ranch and Serra high schools, also in San Diego Unified;

— Oak Crest Middle School in the San Dieguito Union High School District;

— San Elijo Middle School in the San Marcos Unified School District;

— Hilltop and Southwest middle schools and Olympian High School in the Sweetwater Union High School District; and

— Vista High and the Vista Magnet Middle School in the Vista Unified School District.

They're among 193 middle schools and 180 high schools that were honored. Elementary schools will receive awards next year.

The Distinguished Schools program was suspended while state education officials develop new assessment and accountability systems.