Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Watch Live


City Clerk Receives Final Petitions For San Diego City Council Elections In June

San Diego City Hall administration building.
Angela Carone
San Diego City Hall administration building.

A handful of prospective candidates for San Diego City Council seats delivered their nominating petitions to the City Clerk's Office on Thursday, the final day to file the documents.

The city requires interested candidates to bring in valid signatures from 100 people registered to vote in their district. Those with enough verified names will qualify for the June 3 primary election for even-numbered council seats.

The list of candidates who have filed so far include three running for reelection -- David Alvarez, Myrtle Cole and Lorie Zapf.


Alvarez, who lost the mayoral runoff election last month to Kevin Faulconer, will try for a second term in District 8, which includes Barrio Logan and South Bay neighborhoods.

The only other candidates to file petitions for the district race are Valley Coleman III, a retired ironworker, and Lincoln Pickard, a retired contractor.

Cole, who won her seat in a special election last May, will run for a full term in District 4 in southeast San Diego. Her opponents, if they qualify, would be Lemon Grove School District trustee Blanca Lopez Brown and real estate agent Tony Villafranca.

Zapf represents District 6 currently but will seek the District 2 seat vacated by Faulconer. When City Council maps were redrawn a couple of years ago, her residence fell into his beach and bay district.

Federal prosecutor Sarah Boot and Mark Schwartz, a marketer of organic fertilizers, have filed to challenge her.


Candidates so far for Zapf's current seat are San Diego County Taxpayers Association Vice President Chris Cate, special education assistant Jane Glasson, education consultant Carol Kim, community and veterans activist De Le, and ex-San Diego Unified School District Trustee Mitz Lee.