Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Watch Live


Scott Peters, Juan Vargas To Be Sworn In To Congress Thursday

Congressman Scott Peters.
Congressman Scott Peters.

Two new members of San Diego's congressional delegation are scheduled to be sworn-in by Vice President Joe Biden and House Speaker John Boehner tomorrow.

Scott Peters and Juan Vargas, both Democrats, will begin their freshman terms following November election victories. Democrats will hold a 3-2 majority among local members of the House of Representatives.

Peters, a former port commissioner and ex-member of the San Diego City Council, unseated Rep. Brian Bilbray, R-Solana Beach, by a narrow margin in an election that wasn't decided until about a week after voters went to the polls.


Peters said he was "honored and eager'' to take office.

"Personally, it will be the culmination of an exciting year for my family and me,'' Peters said. "But mostly, I am enthusiastic about getting to work for San Diego.''

He said his wife and two children would join him at the ceremony, which will take place at 9 a.m. Pacific Time on Thursday. He also planned to attend a bipartisan prayer service at St. Peter's Catholic Church in Washington, D.C., and hold an open house at his Capitol Hill office.

Vargas, who was a state senator and also an ex-councilman, will fill the seat of Bob Filner, the 10-term Democratic congressman who gave up his seat for his successful mayoral bid.

Peters has been assigned to the House Armed Services Committee, while Vargas will join the Foreign Affairs Committee.


San Diego County is also represented by Rep. Susan Davis, D-San Diego; Rep. Duncan D. Hunter, R-El Cajon; and Rep. Darrell Issa, R-Vista.