Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Watch Live


Greg Cox Elected As New San Diego County Supervisors Chairman

San Diego County Supervisor Greg Cox.
San Diego County
San Diego County Supervisor Greg Cox.

The San Diego County Board of Supervisors today unanimously elected Greg Cox as chairman.

The five members of the panel rotate the chairmanship and vice chair positions. Cox, whose district includes southern San Diego and the cities of Chula Vista, Coronado, Imperial Beach and National City, previously held the position three times.

"I'm honored and humbled to be leading a regional government that has been recognized for being one of the best managed governments in the nation and I am looking forward to an exciting year,'' Cox said.


Dianne Jacob was picked as vice chair. Her East County district includes the cities of El Cajon, La Mesa, Lemon Grove, Poway and Santee. Bill Horn, who represents North County, was chosen as Chair Pro Tem.

Prior to the board appointing its new officers, outgoing Chairman Ron Roberts highlighted some of the board's accomplishments last year, including acquiring an infrared camera to improve fire protection, requiring food truck operators to display the same health inspection letter grades as restaurants and breaking ground on the waterfront park outside the County Administration Building.

Cox said once the 11-acre park is completed in a couple years it would be "the iconic front porch of San Diego on the north Embarcadero of San Diego Bay.''

Cox said last year was significant for the county through Roberts' leadership and the work of the board.

"Through your leadership, our board met the challenges of 2012, together with our executives and employees of every level, we have given the people of San Diego a government they can be proud of,'' Cox said.